top of page
Search
  • morwennavarre

Translation State - Ann Leckie

It was an absolute joy to return to this universe, and once again, Ann Leckie does not fail to challenge all our perceptions of what it means to be human. Add in the politics of the Treaty, a marginalized community, and alien assumptions about humanity, as well as those long lines and endless requirements of bureaucracy that are as eternal as the stars, and one can only expect chaos.


The various points of views allow us to see events from every perspective, every possible angle, and I found the glimpse into the creation of the Presger Translators fascinating. Even in the most arguably inhumane aspects of their upbringing, there is a curious humanity, perhaps more so than in the persons who are deemed human under the Treaty, with the exception of Enae. Reet transcends the expected behavior of a juvenile because he was raised as a human, and Qven discovers that e is, indeed, a princex in disguise. And yes, there was tea.


I received a copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway (my very first win) and I am profoundly grateful.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Transgression

This is a short piece I wrote for a collection of Halloween stories on a fiction site. It's not a terribly fluffy story, which you might have suspected given the Halloween theme, so be warned. There i

Trying Something New

I've been thinking. Now, honestly, that should be the lowest possible bar for anyone who writes, but I'm looking at it as a milestone. I haven't written anything novel-length in a while. I haven't eve

Current Events

I'm not a pundit, or particularly well suited to parsing out what's going on in the Ukraine right now. What I am, however, is human, and from that perspective, I can only have one response to the inva

bottom of page